Bidgerdii Community Health Service is a community controlled health service.  This community controlled model has been recognised as a ‘gold standard’ approach to delivering comprehensive primary health care.  Leadership in governance and management is essential for the provision of high quality, primary health care and business performance.  Bidgerdii Community Health Service is committed to continuous quality improvement to ensure that processes, support structures and practices meet the business needs.

The Board is comprised of Mitzi Jarvis (Chairperson), Wade Mann (Treasurer), Thalep Ahmat (Secretary), Amy Lester (Director), Ross Atu (Director) and Julie-Ann Cox (Director).

The Board is elected from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community and comprise people with knowledge and experience across health and wellbeing, human services, child protection and business.  These Board Members are responsible for the long term vision, values and strategic priorities which make up Bidgerdii Community Health Service’s strategic plan.


Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council (QAIHC)

National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO)

The Department of Health (DOH)

Queensland Health (QH)

Queensland Government Department of Education and Training (DET)